Advantage Rent A Car Reviews

Show reviews that mention
car advantage customer service service car rental customer airport rental credit card card
Filter review
Most helpful review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
My complaint is regarding the Nashville,TN location . Customer service rep name I think is Kate. The city manager name is Wayne Wisthmeir. I arrived on 11/30/20 to pick up my rental car that I had reserved with Priceline for the rate of 21.00 x3 days. Upon my arrival,...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2313241 Review #2313241 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Cheap car at first
Cons
  • Did not offer help
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Very misleading and unprofessional.

I rented a vehicle from these people on June 16, 2021 and returned the vehicle on June 19, 2021. The price went from $195 online to $685 when I arrived to pick up the vehicle!! They added insurance, $45 for fuel, taxes, and a $250 deposit that i was supposed to get back when I returned the vehicle but i have never received my deposit!!! They had told me that the gas prices were $5 per gallon but afterwards I discovered gas prices were only $2.85 or $3 per gallon. I haved called several times about my deposit and they keep telling me it takes 7-10 business days well add the days up!! June 19-July 6.... This is RIDICULOUS!!!!!!!!!!!

User's recommendation: DON'T DO IT!!!!!!!!!!!

View full review
ID
#2661347 Review #2661347 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Belle Isle, Florida
Loss
$250
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

HORRIBLE COMPANY

I had a reservation for a 24 hr period in Orlando. I showed up at the Orland Int'l Airport as instructed to pick up my rental car. EXCEPT, the company was NOT located there. After 20 min of confusion, I found the company was about 12 min drive away from the airport. UGH... When I arrived, I first used the bathroom: FILTHY, NO TP, NO paper towels and NO soap and NO hand sanitizer. I was given my paperwork, then told to go next door to A DIFFERENT RENTAL CAR CO because Advantage "ran out of cars". REALLY???? SO, I waited a long time while the guy put all my info into HIS computer, then got a car, but from Priceline. WHAT A JOKE, WASTE OF MY TIME. DO NOT EVER RENT A CAR FROM ADVANTAGE. THEY DON'T EVEN DESERVE ONE STAR.

User's recommendation: DO NOT EVER RENT A CAR FROM ADVANTAGE. TERRIBLE COMPANY.

View full review
ID
#2407917 Review #2407917 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Yorba Linda, California
Preferred solution
Apology
New Reviewer

I lefted money in the car and nobody answering the phone

My money was left in the car
View full review
ID
#2300682 Review #2300682 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Advantage Rent A Car Hyundai Car Rental
Pros
  • Cost lower than major companies
Cons
  • False advertising
Loss
$220
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

The Worst

The Company had a manager's special and once I arrived to the rental place tried giving me a mini van knowing that I would not want it and choose a different car thus costing me more money. But I'm like fine you got me. I thought it would be a cheaper car but not a mini van come on. Then to upgrade to a cheap Santé Fe was like 400 dollars more. They wanted almost 800 dollars upfront. And the customer services was Ice Cold Friendly. Like they don't really want to rent you the car.

User's recommendation: Rent somewhere else.

View full review
ID
#2223510 Review #2223510 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Grapevine, Texas
Pros
  • Price
Cons
  • Very dissatisfying
  • Way i was misinformed
  • Did not honor the price
Preferred solution
Change the way you do business.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Complaint about a Counter Agent in Tampa Airport

Hi, I booked car with your company Advantage for a rental on Sept 19, at around 11am from Tampa Airport Rental. The agent who saw us was very unprofessional. She kept asking for all documents of insurance proof and collision damage coverage from our credit card. It was frustrating since data signal wasn't working well at the rental location so it took a lot of time and effort to get all the pdfs needed. When we tried to use American Express credit card collision damage coverage she didn't accept it because the pdf we found didn't include the word "primary" for primary collision damage coverage, even though American Express clearly said if we waive it with the rental car company then they will cover collision. After a lot of back and forth, we asked if Chase credit card policy would be accepted and she told us it would be. We handed her the Chase card and commented among ourselves that "So Chase is better than American Express?" She heard us and got very upset, thinking that we mocked her. At that point she told us she canceled our car reservation and refused to give us a car rental. During the whole process we were frustrated and upset that we had to jump through many hoops to get her what she asked for. Whenever we told her this and that was acceptable when we rented cars before she would raise her voice at us that it is Advantage policy and if we don't like it we don't have to rent with Advantage. But at the end she blamed us and played victim for making her upset and canceled the car. This whole fiasco costs us an extra $200 to rent with another car rental company on the spot. During the whole time, I felt attacked and embarrassed by her in front of other customers. She never tried to de-escalate the situations, but acted like she's doing us a favor and was very rude. I want to file a complaint against this agent and hope that the company takes measure so that no further customer should be treated this way. Thanks.

User's recommendation: Do not rent with them.

View full review
ID
#2195839 Review #2195839 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$200
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Not too bad for a rental

I got upgraded and It was great. Clean car not to many complaints. Only complaint would be that tire pressure was low. Besides that not too bad. Make sure you email is correct because I never received my receipt and its difficult to get it thru the website.
View full review
ID
#1801724 Review #1801724 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Ewa, Hawai'i
Service
Advantage Rent A Car Car Rental
Pros
  • That the car it was clean
  • Car

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Very poor service

Update by user Mar 21, 2020

To this date, we have not heard from them nor have they refunded any of our money

Original review posted by user Feb 20, 2020
We arrived in Kauai on feb 10, 2020 and was told our car was not available, so they wanted to give us a minivan and we said no so they gave us a convertible, We left on the 15th for home so we filled the car up with gas and returned it. They said it will come off your bill in 3 business days. we get home and they charged us 119.00 saying the car was brought back empty of fuel.. Would never use them again..
View full review
ID
#1799280 Review #1799280 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Lihue, Hawai'i
Service
Advantage Rent A Car Car Rental
Pros
  • Car was okay
Cons
  • Get a receipt upon leaving
Loss
$119
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Poor Customer Service

I was scheduled to pick up a mini van on 02/15/2020 at 12:30 pm which I reserved weeks in advance. When I arrived they informed me that they did not have any vans and the van that I was suppose to receive was not returned by the customer. I inquired why he didn't call me before my arrival to inform me that the vehicle was not there. His only explanation was that the van was scheduled to be returned before my arrival and he attempted to contact the renter, but he could not get in contact with him. Completely unacceptable!!!! I was highly pissed because he could have easily called me and this would have saved me a trip from Wake Forest, NC to RDU Airport!!! This is the second incident of poor customer service! My advice: If you want to be valued as a customer please take your business somewhere else!!!!
View full review
ID
#1795803 Review #1795803 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Advantage Rent A Car Car Rental
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

If you are at Denver and rent from this company at night ask to be moved to a lighted area. Oh wait they don't have any and what little they do have doesn't help

No light couldn't see current damage to rental at night. NOW I have 3 foot crack in the windshield. 2. This company doesn't allow insurance company to pay the rental fee they charge you so, if you are wanting insurance to pay for you this is not the company to use 3. That car I received was filthy Inside and out, employees didnt care they said write it down. 4. Watch your credit cards because they sneak in charges hoping you wouldn't catch them. I am in the process with a lawyer to hold them accountable for negligence and lying about their policies. AVOID THEY NOT WORTH THE headache or the 9 dollars you save.
View full review
ID
#1791684 Review #1791684 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Advantage Rent A Car Kia Car Rental
Cons
  • Way i was misinformed
  • Response to my problem
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer
I was asked to put down a $200 deposit upon picking up my rental. I paid it. HOWEVER, when I returned the car back (everything in good condition) i was not returned my deposit or so they say "released" ! Now i have been in contact with 5 different people. 2 Weeks ago...
View full review
View full review
ID
#1760186 Review #1760186 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Advantage Rent A Car Car Rental
Reason of review
Return, Exchange or Cancellation Policy
Loss
$200
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

After my recent experience with Advantage - never again.

I made a reservation request for one rental 25 Oct 2019. Due to a family emergency, I was force to cancel and make a new reservation at the same destination. At that time, I was informed that there were three reservations made on 25 Oct. I was also informed that the two extra were "computer glitches" and were not pre-paid. I contacted my credit card company and found that not to be true. After that, it got worse. My experience with Advantage Customer Service is the worst I have ever seen.
View full review
ID
#1729178 Review #1729178 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Phoenix, Arizona
Service
Advantage Rent A Car Car Rental
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Remove additional charges

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

They will RIP YOU OFF

I ordered through Travelocity and was quoted 133.49. We declined insurance online AND at the counter..GUESS WHAT??They added it anyway. It was 2 days before we noticed it on our bank statement so my husband went back to the airport and they still charged us for 2 days!! We declined it TWICE!! You can not understand them on the phone and they keep giving me the run around!! So OVER this place!! DO NOT USE!!!
View full review
ID
#1707314 Review #1707314 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Advantage Rent A Car Car Rental
Cons
  • Rude customer service
  • No recourse to solve a problem
  • That they did not honor their contract
Reason of review
Pricing issue
Loss
$39
Preferred solution
I want to pay what I was QUOTED not what you over charged me!!
New Reviewer

Car with scratcher all over, *** damange. broke windshield

Extremely pissed of about rental car. It had damage all over car and *** damage. I payed for a full size and the gave me a small piece of junk: no power. I will never rent for Dis-advantage again.
View full review
ID
#1686355 Review #1686355 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Return, Exchange or Cancellation Policy
Loss
$150
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Awful, Liars, Unhelpful

After many times of telling the man at the counter that we did not want their insurance because we had our own, and also asking him if it was included in the total he said no mam it is not this is just a deposit. He scrolled the screen so my husband could sign not letting us look at the information, and not thinking we took his word and he lied to us and charged us for the insurance 209.03 which I was told was just a deposit. I called to tell them that I did not want the insurance they told me they could give me 20% off I refused and asked to speak to a manager I was told they would put in a complaint that I should receive and email within 24 to 48 hours if I did not receive it to call them back. I never received the email so I called them back today an explained again what was going on the man on the phone told me that they got an email back from the manager stating that we sign the paper, I told them him that we were told that it was just a deposit that this is ridiculous and asked to speak to a manager I was told to hold the line, a moment later he got back on the phone and told me there was no one available to take my call that he could give me 20% back. I told him no that we had our own insurance and told the guy at the counter that we did not want their insurance, he told me that if we didn't want the insurance that we shouldn't of returned the car, I replied with if we would of did that we would of got arrested he said once we returned the car we agreed to any charges, which is total bs. I told him just to refund the 20% and I would make sure I would tell everyone I know that they are Liars!! So Beware If You Rent From Them. I will go elsewhere. TOTAL BS!!!
View full review
ID
#1677960 Review #1677960 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Customer service lied
  • Rude customer service
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$209
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Misrepresentation and company basically said "too bad"

Update by user Oct 07, 2019

Incorrect info given at Denver Airport location.

Original review posted by user Oct 07, 2019
Told me that I should take "EZ Toll option" even though I said "no". Said that I'd be billed 70 dollars up front and if not used, would be credited back on final bill. I agreed and received that full bill for the week. Was, of course, then told that the charge is applied whether used or not and there's nothing they can credit. They're rep (in Denver) was clearly not new and I'm SURE receives an incentive for that add on. I asked 2 times if I'd be credited unused portion and both times said "100% of what isn't used"... I understand sales people can be deceptive, but corporate's lack of response (customer service) is what's very unacceptable... Never renting with Advantage again. This was the first and last!
View full review
ID
#1674110 Review #1674110 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Advantage Rent A Car Customer Care
Pros
  • Good vehicle
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Loss
$70

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article